Dietitian’s Pick

Today I asked my fellow Kersh dietitians what they brought for lunch to give you an idea of what we typically like to eat. Here’s what they said:

-Taylor: cottage cheese with cinnamon and mango, caprese salad with pretzels, carrots with ranch, and a salad with shaved almonds and fig vinegar

-Elaine: Quinoa with tomatoes, cucumbers, green beans, mozzarella and parmesan cheese, basil, and dressing made with olive oil, lemon juice, pesto and garlic. And for something sweet, a square of dark chocolate.

-Ashley: Lately my favorite go to is a big salad: tons of crunchy romaine, cubed grilled chicken, roasted butternut squash, sautéed red bell peppers and onions, and chunks of avocado. When you mix it all together the avocado makes it creamy like a dressing. You could also add a spoonful of salsa, some Greek yogurt (“sour cream”), shredded cheese, or beans!

-Allie: vegetarian salad with romaine, tomatoes, zucchini, cheese, avocado, sunflower seeds, and 2 hard boiled eggs. I like to mix up the veggies, but always include the eggs to make sure I get my protein!

-Anna: Colorful salad loaded with whatever vegetables I have in my fridge that week (tomatoes, carrots, bell peppers, cucumber, etc) topped with baked chicken OR a taco salad with lean ground beef or ground turkey. 🙂

-Jennifer: I always pack the already prepared salad bowls because of the convenience. Most of the salad bowls are under 300 calories, range around 10-15 grams of protein, and are packed with vitamin and minerals. My personal favorites are Chicken Caesar and the Cranberry Walnut Salad.  I also like to pack low-fat cheese, nuts, and raw veggies to snack on throughout the day.

What’s in your lunch today?

Leave a Reply

